

OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

MINUTES of a MEETING of the OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE held at COUNTY HALL, TROWBRIDGE on FRIDAY 15 JANUARY 2010.

PRESENT:

Cllr Jane Scott (Chairman), Cllr Trevor Carbin, Cllr Lionel Grundy, Cllr Christopher Newbury and Cllr John Thomson.

1. Minutes of Previous Meeting

Resolved:

To confirm and sign the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 3 and 4 November 2009.

2. Exclusion of the Public

Resolved:

To agree that in accordance with Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 to exclude the public from the meeting for the business specified in Minute No. 3 because it is likely that if members of the public were present there would be disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 of Part I of Schedule 12A to the Act and the public interest in withholding the information outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information to the public.

3. Appointment of Service Directors, Neighbourhood and Planning

The Committee considered a confidential report by the Chief Executive, job descriptions and applications for the posts of:-

- (i) Director of Waste Management Services
- (ii) Director of Public Protection
- (iii) Director of Strategic Services

Resolved:

(1) To agree in principle the following appointments with effect from 19 January 2010 and to authorise the Head of Human Resources and

Organisational Development in consultation with the Chairman, Councillor Mrs Scott, to confirm these appointments in the light of the decisions made by the Senior Officers' Employment Sub-Committee at its meeting due to be held on 18 January 2010:-

Ms Tracy Carter - Director of Waste Management Services
Mrs Amanda Bradley - Director of Public Protection
Mr Parvis Khansari - Director of Strategic Services

(2) To ratify the appointment of Mr Mark Smith as Director of Neighbourhood Services as he had been identified as having 'ownership' of the post.

(Duration of meeting: 11.00am – 3.15pm which included the holding of interviews)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Roger Bishton, Democratic & Members' Services, direct line (01225) 713035 or e-mail roger.bishton@wiltshire.gov.uk
Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/71311.